MiCA Dollars and Onchain Vaults: Licensed Perimeter, Tiny Scale, Real Plumbing
AllUnity's USDAU and GSR's Hare vaults landed seven days apart, but they are different things. USDAU is a licensed EU-perimeter dollar token with no reported supply yet, while Hare is DeFi vault infrastructure on existing assets. The gap between regulatory positioning and measured scale is the story.
Executive Summary
Two announcements within seven days are different things. AllUnity's USDAU is a euro-area licensed dollar token, while Hare is a set of vaults over existing assets. On 30 September 2026, AllUnity announced USDAU, a US dollar stablecoin issued by its BaFin-licensed e-money institution under MiCA. On 7 October 2026, GSR committed $100 million to Hare, a vault business built on Aave that holds existing USD stablecoins and Paxos tokenized gold. Hare issues no stablecoin, and we found no MiCA status for it.
The first story is about regulatory positioning. AllUnity's pitch is that dollar liquidity should sit inside a supervised European perimeter. The measured scale is small. Of AllUnity's existing tokens, the two with a reported figure are EURAU (about $0.4 million) and CHFAU (in the tens of millions of dollars), and no supply figure has been reported for USDAU or SEKAU. The global stablecoin market was $313.71 billion on 8 October 2026 (DefiLlama), and USDT and USDC together hold about 82% of it (58.7% and 23.5%).
The second story is about where infrastructure capital is going. The two events here involve distribution, liquidity and curated vaults over existing assets rather than new regulated issuers, though two examples do not establish a trend. Our reading is that USDAU's launch comes with supporting infrastructure (reserve banking, liquidity provision, instant FX, multichain deployment), but infrastructure is not circulation. The test over the coming months is whether USDAU reports meaningful supply, not whether the licence exists.
This report does not map other jurisdictions, describe MiCA's rule details or project adoption curves. Our fact base does not support those claims, and we say so where relevant.
Market Context
The stablecoin market is dominated by dollar tokens from two issuers. DefiLlama showed total supply of $313.71 billion on 8 October 2026. USDT stood at $184.25 billion (58.7%) and USDC at $73.69 billion (23.5%). The next four were USDS at $7.12 billion, USDe at $4.86 billion, DAI at $4.76 billion and USD1 at $4.39 billion.
A different measurement gives a different total. Cointelegraph, citing CoinGecko on 30 September 2026, put the global market at roughly $291 billion and said US dollar-pegged tokens were more than 99% of it. We attribute each figure to its source and do not blend them. On the CoinGecko measure, non-dollar stablecoins are less than 1% of the market.
Euro tokens give the closest comparison for AllUnity's existing lineup. Circle's EURC had a market capitalization of $487.83 million on 8 October 2026 (DefiLlama, CoinGecko id euro-coin). For scale, EURC is roughly 1,200 times the CoinGecko figure for EURAU.
On the DeFi side, Aave's TVL was $18.68 billion and Morpho's was $11.23 billion on 8 October 2026 (DefiLlama). Aave is the venue for Hare's first vaults. Morpho underpins Galaxy Curator, a competing vault platform. Ethereum carried $52.18 billion of chain TVL, Solana $6.42 billion and Base $6.23 billion, the three USDAU launch networks for which we pulled data.
Tokenized gold is a separate market. On 8 October 2026, PAXG had a market capitalization of $1.80 billion, while XAUT's was $3.34 billion. PAXG traded at $4,129.91 and XAUT at $4,123.28, and each tracks gold.
What AllUnity Is, and What the Label "Bank-Backed" Hides
AllUnity is a joint venture of DWS (Deutsche Bank's asset management arm), Flow Traders and Galaxy Digital. On 1 July 2025 it obtained an E-Money Institution licence from Germany's BaFin. It is an e-money institution owned by a joint venture, not a bank. "Bank-backed" appeared in a crypto outlet's headline, but it is not a regulatory status, and its basis was not verified. We do not repeat it as a legal characterization.
This distinction matters for how a reader should assess risk. A BaFin e-money licence is reported by several outlets. A bank guarantee is not something our sources establish. What the sources do establish is that Banking Circle will support USDAU's reserves and transaction banking, and that Flowdesk will provide liquidity (per crypto.news's summary of the launch). Those are service relationships, and we did not find ownership percentages among the three JV partners.
USDAU is also not AllUnity's first token. It is the fourth fiat-backed stablecoin, after EURAU (euro), CHFAU (Swiss franc) and SEKAU (Swedish krona). EURAU launched on 31 July 2025 in Frankfurt and was described as Germany's first fully reserved MiCAR-compliant euro stablecoin. Bullish Europe, a BaFin-regulated trading and custody provider, was named as the first service to offer EURAU for trading.
USDAU's Architecture: Built for Institutions, Distributed Widely
USDAU is pegged 1:1 to the US dollar via segregated reserves. Per crypto.news, it is issued by AllUnity's BaFin-licensed electronic money institution under MiCA and is redeemable 1:1 at par. It debuted on six networks: Ethereum, Solana, Base, Tempo, Arc and Polygon. More networks are expected to be added later in 2026.
The distribution choices are worth reading closely. Ethereum, Solana and Base are the three largest chains by TVL in our live data (DefiLlama, 8 October 2026). We did not pull Tempo, Arc or Polygon figures, so we make no claim about them. Tron ($5.66 billion) and BSC ($5.64 billion) appear in our live chain data but are not on the launch list. We do not know why, and we do not infer a strategy from the omission.
Three design features aim at institutional workflow rather than retail use:
- Fee-free mint and redeem. Institutional clients that have completed AllUnity's onboarding can mint and redeem USDAU without fees through the Business Mint Account.
- Instant FX. AllUnity launched this feature in the same account so businesses can move between its supported currencies.
- Third-party plumbing. Banking Circle handles reserves and banking, and Flowdesk provides liquidity.
Instant FX may be the most relevant feature for multi-currency use, though this is our analysis. A four-currency lineup (euro, franc, krona, dollar) is hard to defend if each token is a separate, shallow pool. A business that can move between them in one account turns four small tokens into one multi-currency product. That is our analysis, not a stated company objective.
The limit is onboarding. Fee-free minting applies to clients that have completed AllUnity's onboarding process. We do not know whether other users can mint or how quickly onboarding proceeds. That suits regulated firms. It also means supply growth depends on how fast the funnel fills, which is observable only through reported circulation.
The Scale Reality Check
The gap between positioning and measurement is large. CoinGecko measured EURAU's market capitalization at roughly $400,000 and CHFAU's at about $45 million, as cited by Cointelegraph on 30 September 2026. No market-cap figure for USDAU or SEKAU was reported in that article. We found no USDAU supply figure elsewhere.
EURAU launched on 31 July 2025. About fourteen months later, CoinGecko measured it at roughly $400,000. The EURC comparison above comes from different sources and dates (DefiLlama on 8 October 2026 versus CoinGecko as cited on 30 September 2026), so the ratio is indicative. It is not a precise comparison.
The dollar comparison is starker. Even if USDAU matched CHFAU's reported size, it would be far below the smallest of the six largest stablecoins, USD1, at $4.39 billion (different sources and dates). We do not state a precise percentage, because the figures would mix CoinGecko and DefiLlama sources.
Two interpretations are consistent with the evidence, and we cannot yet distinguish between them.
- Early-stage lag. Institutional onboarding is slow, and supply follows integrations (banking, liquidity, listings). On this view, USDAU's infrastructure announcements are leading indicators.
- Structural disadvantage. Established dollar issuers may be hard to displace, and we have no evidence on cost differences.
CHFAU's larger reported figure does not show that dollar demand will follow. Whether the dollar version attracts users is unknown. It depends on whether EU-based firms want a supervised dollar token more than they want the deepest-liquidity token.
The Policy Tension: Perimeter Versus Dependence
AllUnity's CEO, Alexander Höptner, framed the product around supervision. His argument, as reported by Cointelegraph, is that Europe's concern is dollar liquidity flowing through offshore issuers with no European supervisor, no enforceable redemption rights and no reserve visibility. He said USDAU brings dollar liquidity inside Europe's regulatory perimeter.
That argument has force on its own terms. Redemption rights and reserve visibility are concrete properties. USDAU's documented features (1:1 redemption at par, segregated reserves, a BaFin-licensed issuer) address supervision and redemption, but reserve composition was not found, so reserve visibility is unconfirmed.
There is a policy tension, however. Cointelegraph reports that the European Central Bank warned in June 2026 that greater use of dollar stablecoins in European tokenized finance could deepen dependence on the dollar and weaken the euro's role. We read only Cointelegraph's characterization, not the ECB document. A MiCA-compliant dollar token puts dollars inside the perimeter, but on the face of it does not reduce dollar usage. That is our inference, not a finding from any source.
Seen this way, USDAU sits between two policy goals that can pull in opposite directions: supervising the dollar tokens Europeans already use, and limiting how much European finance runs on dollars. We make no prediction about how regulators resolve this. We note that the sources we read contain the ECB concern and the issuer's perimeter argument side by side, and that a licensed dollar product is a test case for both.
Is This Regulatory Arbitrage?
The topic framing invites that label, and we cannot support it. We gathered no source on whether issuers are choosing jurisdictions to minimize rules, in either direction. USDAU's documented facts point the other way: it is issued by a licensed EMI in Germany and is being sold on supervision. AllUnity's CEO argues that offshore issuers lack European supervision.
We did not research MiCA's detailed rules, and we make no claim about proposed changes to them.
Where Infrastructure Money Is Actually Going
On 7 October 2026, GSR announced a $100 million commitment to Hare, a new onchain credit and vault business built with liquidity-distribution platform Turtle. CoinDesk reports the multi-year commitment will mostly take the form of a credit facility. GSR capital will serve as anchor liquidity before outside investors arrive.
Hare's two initial products are built on Aave:
- Hare USD Earn: a single vault accepting major USD stablecoins.
- Hare Gold Earn: a vault that lets holders of Paxos's tokenized gold tokens PAXG and PAXGy earn yield, with Paxos Labs participating.
These are yield vaults over existing assets. They do not issue stablecoins, and no MiCA authorization for Hare was found in the sources read. Our sources do not say whether PAXG or XAUT have any MiCA classification, and we make no claim either way.
Hare is not an isolated bet. As of July 2026, there were $8.6 billion in assets across 788 curated vaults, per Vaults.fyi data cited in the syndicated CoinDesk coverage. We did not check Vaults.fyi directly. The same coverage notes that Two Prime launched a $10 million-backed bitcoin lending vault on Pareto. It also says Galaxy Digital launched Galaxy Curator, a Morpho-based vault platform reaching Fireblocks' 2,400 institutional clients.
What the Vault Build Tells Us
The evidence points to distribution and liquidity rather than issuance, though it is thin. Galaxy Curator reaches Fireblocks' 2,400 institutional clients. USDAU's own supporting cast (Flowdesk for liquidity, Banking Circle for banking) fits the same pattern.
Our analysis is that capital is going where assets already exist and need yield, access or liquidity. Aave's $18.68 billion and Morpho's $11.23 billion give vaults a base of existing deposits to build on. A new regulated token has to first create the supply that a vault can wrap.
There is a gap in what we know. We found no Hare vault sizes or TVL, no list of outside allocators, and no detail on Paxos Labs' role beyond "participating." The commitment is not a measured deposit base. Until Hare reports vault balances, its scale is unknown.
Tokenized Gold Runs on a Separate Track
The "gold vaults" label can mislead readers into thinking Hare creates a new asset class. It does not. PAXG already had a market capitalization of $1.80 billion on 8 October 2026, with about 436,644 tokens in circulation. XAUT was larger at $3.34 billion, with about 808,959 tokens. Both track gold, and their token prices of $4,129.91 (PAXG) and $4,123.28 (XAUT) sit close together.
Hare Gold Earn targets PAXG and PAXGy holders specifically. XAUT, the larger token by market capitalization, is not named among Hare's initial products in the sources we read. That is a fact about the launch scope, and we do not interpret it. A wider gold-vault market would be the sum of what existing token holders choose to deposit, which we cannot measure.
For this report's argument, the relevance is narrow. Gold tokens already have billions of dollars in market capitalization, and Hare adds a yield layer on top.
Data: Scale and Category Comparison
The table compares the assets discussed. Figures come from different sources and dates, as noted in each row, and should not be summed or divided across sources.
Asset | Category | Measured value | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
USDT | USD stablecoin | $184.25B supply (58.7% share) | 8 Oct 2026 | DefiLlama |
USDC | USD stablecoin | $73.69B supply (23.5% share) | 8 Oct 2026 | DefiLlama |
EURC | Circle euro stablecoin | $487.83M market cap | 8 Oct 2026 | DefiLlama |
CHFAU | AllUnity Swiss franc token | About $45M market cap | 30 Sep 2026 | CoinGecko via Cointelegraph |
EURAU | AllUnity euro token | About $0.4M market cap | 30 Sep 2026 | CoinGecko via Cointelegraph |
SEKAU | AllUnity krona token | Not reported | 30 Sep 2026 | Not available |
USDAU | AllUnity USD token (MiCA, BaFin-licensed EMI) | Not reported | 30 Sep 2026 | Not available |
PAXG | Tokenized gold | $1.80B market cap | 8 Oct 2026 | DefiLlama (CoinGecko) |
XAUT | Tokenized gold | $3.34B market cap | 8 Oct 2026 | DefiLlama (CoinGecko) |
The next table compares the two launches side by side.
Feature | USDAU (AllUnity) | Hare (GSR with Turtle) |
|---|---|---|
Announced | 30 Sep 2026 | 7 Oct 2026 |
What it is | New USD stablecoin | Yield vaults over existing assets |
Issues a token | Yes | No |
Backing or capital | Segregated reserves, 1:1 redemption | GSR commitment, mostly a credit facility |
Regulatory status found | BaFin-licensed EMI issuer, under MiCA | No MiCA authorization found |
Venue | Six networks (Ethereum, Solana, Base, Tempo, Arc, Polygon) | Aave |
Measured scale | No supply reported | No vault sizes reported |
Key partners | Banking Circle, Flowdesk | Turtle, Paxos Labs |
Risks
Persistent non-adoption of USDAU (High). The trigger is USDAU supply remaining unreported or tiny several months after launch, as EURAU's single reported measurement suggests. If so, the thesis that licensed dollar issuance can win share inside Europe weakens, and the infrastructure behind it earns little.
Policy contradiction (Medium). The ECB's reported concern about dollar dependence (June 2026) could translate into less favorable treatment of dollar tokens even inside the perimeter. We have no source on any such rule. The trigger would be a published regulatory position that treats a licensed dollar token as part of the dependence problem. We rate it Medium because our evidence is only Cointelegraph's characterization.
MiCA rule change (not assessed). We did not research MiCA's rules, so we cannot rate the risk of changes to them.
Liquidity depth (Medium). USDAU relies on Flowdesk for liquidity, and institutions can mint fee-free only after onboarding. If secondary-market liquidity stays thin, businesses may prefer deeper incumbents. The trigger is wide spreads or absent venue listings. We found no evidence on whether any exchange has listed USDAU.
Vault concentration and credit risk (Medium). Hare relies on GSR capital as anchor liquidity. If outside allocators do not follow, the vaults remain mostly a single-sponsor facility. The trigger is no reported outside deposits. We have no source on Hare's credit exposure or on Aave smart-contract incidents.
Source and measurement risk (Low to Medium). Several facts rest on syndicated summaries and search-result text, and the CoinDesk page was only partly retrievable. Market totals differ by source (about $291 billion at CoinGecko versus a higher total at DefiLlama). The trigger is any correction to the underlying reports.
Mislabeling risk (Low). Readers may treat GSR's gold vaults or "bank-backed" headlines as regulatory facts. Neither is supported. The consequence is misallocated diligence, not market risk.
Outlook
The following scenarios are our estimates for the next three to six months, not facts. The probabilities are a judgment, not a measurement, and the evidence does not distinguish between the two interpretations.
Base case: plumbing without scale (55%). USDAU adds networks as AllUnity said it expects to do later in 2026. Supply is either unreported or small, and no regulatory signal on dollar tokens appears. The headline comparisons with EURC, USDT and USDC barely change. Hare publishes initial vaults and perhaps first deposits, but outside allocators are slow. This is the most consistent outcome with a tiny existing base and a funnel that depends on onboarding.
Upside case: first real traction (20%). USDAU reports circulation comparable to or above CHFAU's reported figure, and an exchange or payments venue lists it. Hare shows outside allocators joining GSR's anchor capital. This would show that supervised dollar issuance can attract institutional demand and that the plumbing translates into supply.
Downside case: stall or policy headwind (25%). USDAU supply stays negligible while regulators or central banks signal discomfort with dollar tokens in European finance, or push changes to issuer rules. Vault infrastructure continues because it does not depend on EU licensing. The issuer story weakens relative to the DeFi story. We weight the downside above the upside as a judgment, because only one EURAU measurement is available and it is small, though that single data point does not settle the two interpretations.
Takeaways
For traders. Do not treat USDAU or Hare as a market-moving catalyst on current evidence. Neither has a reported supply or deposit base. Watch for the first USDAU supply figure and for exchange listings, which our sources do not yet show. Check which source a stablecoin figure comes from before comparing it with another.
For builders. The visible demand is for distribution, liquidity and vault infrastructure that wraps existing tokens. Multi-currency tooling such as Instant FX may matter most in USDAU's design, though that is our analysis.
For investors. Separate the licence from the circulation. AllUnity's ownership (DWS, Flow Traders, Galaxy) and BaFin licence are documented strengths, but a licence is not revenue. For Hare, GSR's pledge is a commitment, so the leading indicators are vault balances and outside allocators.
What to Watch
- A first reported USDAU market cap or circulating supply.
- SEKAU's market capitalization, which was not reported on 30 September.
- Announcements of the additional networks AllUnity expects to add in 2026.
- Hare vault TVL, outside allocator names and Paxos Labs' role.
- The ECB document itself, and any MiCA amendment text, neither of which we read.
Sources
- Cointelegraph: USDAU announcement, six networks, CoinGecko figures for EURAU and CHFAU, ECB warning, CEO statement
- crypto.news: USDAU issuer, redemption at par, Banking Circle, Flowdesk, Business Mint Account and Instant FX
- FinanceFeeds: AllUnity BaFin e-money institution licence and joint-venture ownership
- AllUnity: EURAU launch in Frankfurt, 31 July 2025
- CoinDesk: GSR's Hare onchain credit commitment
- KuCoin News (syndicating CoinDesk and ChainCatcher): Hare USD Earn and Hare Gold Earn on Aave
- KuCoin News (syndicating CoinDesk): curated vault context, Two Prime, Galaxy Curator
- DefiLlama Stablecoins: total stablecoin supply and top issuers, 8 October 2026
- DefiLlama via CoinGecko: EURC market capitalization
- DefiLlama via CoinGecko: PAXG market data
- DefiLlama via CoinGecko: XAUT market data
- DefiLlama: Aave TVL
- DefiLlama: Morpho TVL
- DefiLlama: Ethereum chain TVL
- DefiLlama: Solana chain TVL
- DefiLlama: Base chain TVL
- DefiLlama: Tron chain TVL
- DefiLlama: BSC chain TVL
- DefiLlama via CoinGecko: USDT market data
- DefiLlama via CoinGecko: USDC market data
